Jerk Chicken Paninis

We had a wave of summer up here in Ohio over the last few weeks…seriously, 80 degrees and SUN!  Its been so crazy; we broke temperature records from the 1930s and we had to mow grass!!  This is a big deal – I’ve seen blizzards in April some years and now I’m thinking about planting my garden in a few weeks (I normally wait until the end of May).  This weather is border-line creepy… but I like it.

Warm weather calls cooking and eating outdoors, didn’t you know that?  I decided to christen the grill with Jerk Chicken Paninis (a Epiphany I had during work.  Don’t judge me – I work for a food company and therefore always have food on the brain).  These have an awesome combo of sweet and spicy that I think you’ll LOVE.  Enjoy!

  • Fresh sour dough bread, cut into 8 1 1/2 inch slices
  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, fileted
  • Jerk rub (I used this)
  • 4 1/2 inch rings of fresh pineapple
  • 1 Haas avocado, mashed
  • 16 slices pepper jack cheese
  • Butter

Rub the chicken with the seasoning and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Grill the chicken until cooked.  Also grill the pineapple rings until grill marks are visible on both sides.

To assemble the panini, butter the outsides of the bread.  Layer on the toppings in this order (trust me, this is an art – you don’t want soggy bread from the pineapple!): slice of cheese, chicken, pineapple, and another slice of cheese.  Spread avocado on the other slice of bread and before placing on the sandwich.  Using a panini press (or the grill since you’ve already got it hot), grill the paninis until toasted and cheese is melted.

Categories: Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Jerk Chicken Paninis

  1. I love jerk chicken and like the ingredients that you added to your sandwich. It sounds great.

  2. I’m living in Ohio too! These Paninis look great, nothing like a good piece of toasted bread with some delicious fillings

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

