Veggie Stuffed Poblanos

Man, I’m really slacking on the Monday posts lately, huh?  Maybe it just reflects my “meh” attitude towards Mondays.  Or maybe its because I try not to think about Monday until it actually arrives and I’m forced to acknowledge it.  Either way, sorry about that, friends – I promise to try harder next week!!

So I was on a Mexican kick the other weekend when I decided to take a second stab at tamales AND stuffed poblanos.  I don’t know, it sounded good for some reason.  Actually, I know the reason…we have this really awesome cafeteria at work with real chefs and one of them specializes in Latin food.  Anyways, he made the most awesome vegetarian stuffed poblanos with mole and crema on top that I went nuts over. While these weren’t quite the same (I knew they wouldn’t be), I still wanted to see what recipes I could find to stuff those emerald gems with.

So quick sad story before we get to the recipe.  Notice how my peppers look a little sickly?  Yea, that color just isn’t right you know?  I know.  Its because they aren’t actually poblanos (but they should be).  I kid you not, I had been to the grocery earlier in the week and they had millions of poblanos so I figured I was safe to get them a couple days later.  Wrong-o.  They had ZERO.  So sad.  So good thing for smart phones because as I stood sighing in a very loud and highly annoyed manor, I was able to determine that cubanelle peppers were a somewhat acceptable substitution (that is compared to the other two varieties of peppers I had to chose from – Bell and jalepeno).  And I kid you not, I went back two days later to the store and guess what?  Millions of poblanos again.  What.  The.  Heck?  OH well, maybe next time…

Enjoy!

  • 8 poblano chiles
  • 1 c. finely chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 1/2 c. fresh corn kernels
  • 1/2 c. chopped green onions
  • 2 TBS pine nuts, toasted
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 c. (3 ounces) crumbled queso fresco, divided
  • 2 TBS chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. salt, divided
  • 1/4 tsp/ ground red pepper, divided
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained and divided
  • 2 TBS butter
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 2 TBS all-purpose flour
  • 2 c. 2% reduced-fat milk
  • 1 TBS fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs

Preheat broiler.

Place chiles on a foil-lined baking sheet; broil 3 inches from heat 8 minutes or until blackened, turning after 4 minutes. Place in a zip-top plastic bag; seal. Let stand 15 minutes. Peel and discard skins. Cut a lengthwise slit in each chile; discard seeds, leaving stems intact.

Preheat oven to 350°.

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium heat. Add bell pepper; cook 4 minutes, stirring frequently. Add corn, onions, nuts, and garlic; cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; stir in 1/2 cup cheese, cilantro, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper.

Place half of beans in a bowl; mash with a fork. Add mashed beans and whole beans to corn mixture. Spoon about 1/3 cup bean mixture into each chile; fold sides of chile over filling. Arrange stuffed chiles in an 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray; set aside.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat; add 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper, cumin, and nutmeg, and stir with a whisk. Cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Gradually add flour, and stir with a whisk; cook 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Gradually add milk. Stir with a whisk until blended.

Increase heat to medium. Cook milk mixture 8 minutes or until thick. Remove from heat; stir in 1/2 teaspoon salt and lime juice. Pour milk mixture over stuffed chiles.
Combine remaining 1/4 cup cheese and breadcrumbs; sprinkle over milk mixture. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until sauce is bubbly.

Preheat broiler.

Broil 1 minute or until top is golden brown.

Cooking Light

Categories: Entrees, Mexican, Recipes | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Veggie Stuffed Poblanos

  1. Wonderful!

  2. Getting repetitive here, but I’m gonna say it again anyway. Loving all your Mexican recipes.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

