Lemongrass-Chicken Pizza with Sweet Potatoes & Onion Marmalade

Branden HATED this.  I kind of set him up though with this pizza.  I thought maybe if I re-purposed this dip that he didn’t exactly love (although I really did) that maybe he wouldn’t notice and I wouldn’t be wasting food.  Ha.  At this point in our marriage, I should know better.  With the first bite…he noticed.

Oh well, he went out of town the next day and I continued to eat the leftovers over the next two days…and I enjoyed it.  Well, I enjoyed it for the most part and here’s why.  The one crappy part about this pizza is the fact that I made homemade crust because I like homemade crust.  FAIL.  It was too cold and the slow rise in the fridge overnight was a complete joke.  I mean, I should’ve just left the yeast out because it would’ve turned out the exact same.  Naaaaaasty.

Other than the crust fiasco and a fail in the “trick-the-husband” department, this pizza had great fresh flavors (and used up a bunch of stuff I had lft in the fridge!).

Enjoy!

  • 1 fresh pizza crust
  • 1 c. lemongrass creme fraiche
  • Red onion jam (recipe follows)
  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken, grilled and chopped
  • 2 c. sweet potato, diced and roasted
  • 1/2 c. finely shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 c. fresh cilantro, chopped

Preheat oven to 375º.  Prebake crust for 10 minutes on pizza stone.

Top crust with remaining ingredients in that order through the cheese.  Bake for additional 5-7 minutes or until cheese is melted and toppings are hot.  Remove from oven and top with fresh cilantro.

Red Onion Jam

Recipe from Brian Boitano

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large red onion, sliced
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons water

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add the onions and cook until soft and translucent about 10 to 15 minutes. Add the sugar, red wine vinegar and 3 tablespoons water and cook until the liquid is reduced completely and the onions are caramelized, about 10 minutes.

Categories: Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Lemongrass-Chicken Pizza with Sweet Potatoes & Onion Marmalade

  1. That’s so pretty. Lemongrass is one of my favourite ingredients, so the more you cook with it the happier I’ll be! Bare that in mind :D

  2. Oh no, I hate when Katherine hates something. It looks really good though.

  3. Pingback: Pizza Crust (for the GRILL!) « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

