White Chile con Queso Fondue with Chorizo

Game Day is COMING!  I can’t believe its here already!  Sadly, couldn’t tell you who’s playing but I know I’m excited for the social opportunities that come with the “big game.”  Its all about the parties.

Part of the reason why I can’t believe its here already is because it marks the one year anniversary of correcting my feet – surgery numero uno was the day after the Super Bowl last year. Its been an interesting year with the feets but I’m happy to say that they’re at about 90% and I even wore heels TWICE last week.  That’s a huge deal for a vertically-challenged, shoe-lovin’ woman!

But you probably don’t care so much about my feet and my love for shoes as you do about food.  So onwards…

To me, the Super Bowl is a big giant excuse to eat really unhealthy for a day.  Anyone share that sentiment or am I just looking for excuses?  Regardless, I’ve got an awesome dip for you!

Looking to “theme” your game day food (it drive me BONKERS if foods don’t at least kind of go together, even finger foods.  I’m OCD you could say), then check out these posts from my Mexican-themed New Years that could/should be prepared for game day!

Tamales

Avocado, Orange, and Pomegranate Salsa

Mexican Fruit Salad

You might as well throw in some pico de gallo, guacamole, and of course some quality tortilla chips.  These are my FAVORITE (heck, I even eat them without dips!).

Enjoy!

  • 12 oz. spicy Mexican chorizo sausage, crumbled
  • 12 oz. queso fresco, crumbled
  • 1 8 oz. package cream cheese, cubed
  • 1 c. Mexican crema or sour cream
  • 1 c. pico de gallo
  • 3 TBS tequila
  • 1 TBS cornstarch
  • 2 TBS water
  • Mexican hot sauce to taste (optional)

Place the chorizo in a large fondue pot over medium heat.  As the sausage begins to cooks, stir frequently to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pot.  When the sausage is almost cooked, add the cheeses, crema, pico de gallo, and tequila.  Keep whisking until the cheese melts.  The mixture should become smooth after about 5 minutes.

In a small bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in the water and add the mixture to the fondue.  Stir until slightly thickened.  Taste and add hot sauce if desired.

Serve immediately over low heat.

Adapted slightly from Hallie Harron’s Not Your Mother’s Fondue

Categories: Appetizers, Mexican, Recipes, Sides, Snacks | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “White Chile con Queso Fondue with Chorizo

  1. What a great spread!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

