Chicken Tortilla Soup

Winter finally came to Ohio.  I guess we were past due?  I really just wish we’d skip it all together with and go straight to summer…I want flip flops and dinner outside and late night walks and sundresses and swimming and…I really could go on.  I yearn for that first day that I walk outside and the sun is actually warm on my skin.  Oh my gosh I can’t wait!  But until then, I shall remain bundled up on the couch in my 63° house and eat soup.

Mmmm, noodle soup (No Joey, there’s no noodles here!  I’m a not-so-closet Friends addict – if you’ve seen this episode with the soup commercial audition, then I hope you chuckled, if not then just ignore me)!  This is a pretty hearty one that filled even Branden up and packs lots of Tex-Mex flavors.  The original recipe came from Adrianna over at A Cozy Kitchen, but I amended it to make it a little more filling for the hubby.

Enjoy!

  • 1 large fresh poblano pepper
  • 1 15-ounce can fire roasted diced tomatoes (in juice)
  • 1 TBS olive oil
  • 1/2 medium white onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 4 c. chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
  • 2-3 corn tortillas, sliced into strips and halved
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 c. frozen corn
  • 1 c. black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 lb. chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • Handful of Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded
  • 1 lime, cut into 6 wedges

Quickly toast the pepper by turning it an inch or two above an open flame for a few seconds until its aroma fill the kitchen. (Lacking an open flame, toast it in a dry pan over medium heat, pressing it flat for a few seconds, then flipping it over and pressing it again.)

Break the pepper into pieces and put in a blender jar along with the tomatoes with their juice.

Heat the oil in a medium (3- to 4-quart) saucepan over medium-high. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until golden, about 7 minutes. Scoop up the onion and garlic with a slotted spoon, pressing them against the side of the pan to leave behind as much oil as possible, and transfer to the blender. Process until smooth.

Raise the heat under the pan to medium-high. When quite hot, add the puree and stir nearly constantly, until thickened to the consistency of tomato paste, about 6 minutes. Add the broth. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for 15 minutes. Taste and season with about a teaspoon of salt (amount depends on the saltiness of the broth).

While soup is simmering, pour three tablespoons of vegetable oil in a skillet. When oil is hot, add tortilla strips and fry until crispy. Transfer to a paper towel to drain and set aside.

Just before serving, add the shredded chicken and corn to the simmering broth. Ladle the soup into the bowls and top with cubed avocado, shredded cheese and tortilla strips.

Categories: Entrees, Mexican, Recipes, Soup | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. My brother lives in Ohio, and wow does it sound like winter came this past weekend! Love the soup.

    • It did, but it could’ve been so much worse! It all melted by Monday anyways when we were in the upper 40s and had rain. Its been a rather odd winter…

  2. Your soups always look smashing!

  3. Hi! I’m new to your blog, and I must say that you have some incredible recipes here!

    You have no idea how long I have been looking for a steady, uncomplicated spanish/mexican inspired chicken soup. This recipe has my mouth watering, and you better believe I’ve already bookmarked it for a cooking date in the near future.

    Great site Lauren. You’ve definitely sold me as a repeat visitor!

    • Thanks so much – I’m really glad you found a recipe that is helpful and that you enjoyed the blog! Your comments were too kind! Hope to see you back soon!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

