Dark Chocolate Waffles with Orange Syrup

I literally woke up over the weekend thinking about chocolate waffles for no apparent reason (and after reading this, you might too tomorrow).  Seriously, I don’t know where this notion came from.  But what to top them with?  Oh, oh I know, I know!!  Pick me!  ORANGE SYRUP.  Again, no idea where this came from but I was pretty excited…and on a serious mission to make my dreams come true.  Should I note that I’ve never had chocolate waffles let alone with orange syrup?  That should further prove how random this was.

I fumbled down the stairs, leaving Branden asleep in the bed, determined to find a starting point.  I stared at my cookbook bookcase (yes, we have an entire bookcase) when I had an epiphany.  The Ghiradelli Cookbook I brought back from San Fran last spring was sure to be promising.  B.I.N.G.O.

I’m not a fan of overly sweet breakfast foods so trust me when I say that neither the waffle nor the syrup were overly sweet.  I mean for one, the waffle has very little sugar in it.  The only significant sweetness is from the dark chocolate chips should you choose to add them (and I suggest you do).  And the syrup only had enough sugar in it to ensure it didn’t come out bitter after being reduced.

These waffles would also be beautiful topped with fresh berries and whipped cream for dessert.  Or breakfast – whatever your fancy.

Enjoy!

Dark Chocolate Waffles (makes 8 waffle squares)

  • 1 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 TBS baking powder
  • 1 TBS granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. whole milk
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 2 TBS canola oil
  • 3/4 c. Ghiradelli 60% Cocoa Chocolate Chips

Preheat a waffle iron.

Sift the flour, cocoa, and baking powder into a bowl.  Add the sugar and salt and whisk to thoroughly mix.  In another bowl, whisk together the milk, egg yolks, and oil. Add to flour and whisk gently until just conbined.

In a clean, dry bowl, beat the egg whites with an electric beater at medium speed until they form soft peaks.  Fold into the batter and mix in the chocolate chips.

Ladle 1/2 of the batter onto the center of the waffle iron.  Close the top and cook until waffle is crispy on both sides.  Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for cooking time.  Serve immediately with orange syrup (recipe follows).

– Waffle Recipe from The Ghiradelli Chocolate Cookbook

Orange Syrup

  • 1 c. orange juice
  • 1 TBS granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. corn starch

Whisk ingredients together in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring frequently.  Simmer until thick enough that it coats the back of a wooden spoon.  Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly before topping waffles.

Categories: American, Breakfast, Desserts, Recipes | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Waffles with Orange Syrup

  1. Those look fantastic.

  2. These look amazing. Will be adding them to the list of must-try recipes. Found your blog through Rufus, and have enjoyed reading you posts. See you around :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

