Navel Orange, Pomegranate, & Avocado Salsa

Happy New Year!!

I’m starting this year fresh with a new, cleaner look to the blog.  I was never a huge fan of my old look, but despite having an IT degree, I really have had no desire to design and host my own site, so I picked a generic look from WordPress.  Nothing has changed this year – I still don’t have the desire to design my own site yet, but I did find a new design that I like better…and I hope you do, too!  I also got a photo booth for Christmas so hopefully I can improve my photo skills in the new year, too (please don’t judge my photos in the next few weeks…I’m learning!!).  I shoot everything for my blog right now using this guy, but the lighting is too inconsistent and quite frankly terrible in our house that I really struggle making my pictures look decent despite really loving this camera for what it is – an indestructible point and shoot (p.s., we went snorkeling in Saint Lucia with this thing and the pictures were AMAZING – I highly, highly recommend this camera, especially if you’re not very nice to technology like I am).

Okay, so enough jib-jab about “improvements” to my blog – how about an awesome and healthy salsa that looks like a party in a bowl?!  Great!  I made this for our Mexican-themed New Year’s celebration at our house and it was a huge hit!  The flavors were incredible and so fresh – the oranges really added something different.

Serve this with some hearty chips or on warm flour tortillas…or throw it on a salad with grilled shrimp (you won’t need dressing!).

Enjoy!

  • Juice of half a lime
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 large navel oranges
  • 1 pomegranate
  • 2 large hass avocados, halved, pitted, peeled, and cut into 1/2″ dice
  • 2/3 c. diced red onion
  • 1 jalepeno pepper, seeds and ribs removed, minced
  • 2 green onions, including green tops, cut on the diagonal into thin slices
  • 1/2 c. chopped cilantro

In a large bowl, whisk together he lime juice, salt, and pepper until the salt dissolves.

Working with one orange at a time, cut a slice from the top and bottom to reveal the flesh.  Stand the orange upright and slice away from the peel from the sides in wide strips, cutting downward, following the contour of the fruit, and removing all the white pith.  Holding the orange over a bowl, use a sharp paring knife to cut along both sides of each segment, releasing the segments and allowing the juice and segments to drop into the bowl.  Discard any seeds that might adhere to the fruit or drop into the bowl.  Repeat with the remaining oranges (this technique is called “supreming”).  Drain the juice into a measuring cup and set aside.  Cut the orange segments into 1/2″ pieces and add to the bowl containing the lime juice.

To extract the seeds from the pomegranate, cut the fruit into quarters.  Fill a large bowl with cold water and place it in the kitchen sink to contain any squirting pomegranate juice.  Using your fingertips, break the seeds away from the pith under water.  The seeds will sink to the bottom of the bowl.  Discard any pith, drain the water, blot the seeds lightly with paper towels and add to the bowl with the orange segments.

Add the avocado, red onion, jalapeno, green onions, and cilantro to the bowl.  Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the ingredients together, being careful not to mash the avocado.  Add the reserved orange juice, 1 tablespoon at a time, until the salsa is moist but not soupy.  Taste and adjust the seasoning.  Transfer to a serving bowl, cover, and set aside for at least 1 hour to allow the flavors to meld.

By Diane Morgan, Skinny Dips

Categories: Appetizers, Condiments, Mexican, Recipes, Sides | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Navel Orange, Pomegranate, & Avocado Salsa

  1. I like the new look, I stared at it a minute thinking this is new, before I read that it was! Like the header photo. Also, great salad!

  2. Happy New Year! I like the new look too! good luck with the photography – I’m sure you’ll do just fine! My photography has been a massive learning curve. Luckily I’m blessed with a lot of natural light and a rather well coloured table :D. This salad looks perfect for the days following the Christmas break.

    • If I had natural light, we’d be in business. Its halfway decent when evening doesn’t start at 4:30 p.m. (so basically only in the summer months), but winter has been absolutely dreadful. Sadly we have even worse light fixtures…the joys of RENTING an old home :)

      And p.s., I LOVE your table – I ogle over it quite often!

  3. Pingback: White Chile con Queso Fondue with Chorizo « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

