Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies

I realized I never really completed my thoughts from Thanksgiving recovery…I never shared some of the other things I did to get rid of my insane amount of leftover egg whites!  Why did I have so many leftover egg whites you ask?  THIS was the culprit, plain and simple.  I also made a savory souffle that I’ll be sharing Friday…

Now this little number might make you want to throw some yolks away so you have an excuse to use egg whites.  DON’T DO IT!  I’ve got a solution for you…make aioli and sweet potato fries for dinner + chocolate chip meringue cookies for dessert = zero food waste <= Happy Belly.  How about that for some good math?!?  I like it.

Meringue cookies are super easy to make and really don’t require many ingredients aside from general staples (ok, so things I consider staples).  Want some more good news?  From a cookie perspective, these are pretty healthy.  There’s no added fat, just some sugar and a little bit of chocolate. 

Enjoy!

  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped bittersweet chocolate (I love me some Ghirardelli 60% chocolate chips.  These things are bigger than normal chocolate chips and the flavor is unbeatable.  I promise, this is one of those things that’s worth splurging on.)

Preheat oven to 225°.

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside.

Place first 3 ingredients in a large bowl, and beat with a mixer at high speed until foamy. Add sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form. Beat for 1 minute at high speed or until mixture is shiny. Gently fold in chocolate.

Spoon mixture into a large zip-top plastic bag. Snip a 1/4-inch hole in 1 bottom corner of bag. Pipe swirls on to the prepared baking sheets.

Bake at 225° for 30 minutes with 1 pan on bottom rack and 1 pan on second rack from top. Rotate pans; bake an additional 30 minutes or until dry to the touch. Cool on pans 30 minutes on wire racks. Carefully remove meringues from paper; cool completely on wire racks.

Note: Store meringues in an airtight container at room temperature for up to two weeks.

Cooking Light

Categories: American, Desserts, Recipes, Snacks | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies

  1. Those look perfect.

  2. They’re SO pretty. I love them.

  3. Beautiful! Do you think it’s possible to do these without a mixer (I don’t have one) or would I just be beating the egg whites until my arm fell off?

    • Oh boy, I wouldn’t say its impossible – but maybe painful! Its comparable to making whipped cream in the amount of effort/energy needed. I know I wouldn’t have the patience/stamina for it :) I hand mixer (like the old fashioned hand crank kind) would probably get you closer than using just a whisk.

  4. Pingback: White Bean Souffle with Thyme & Garlic « foodistherapy

  5. Pingback: Cooking in a Small Space « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

