Pie Crust “Cinnamon Roll”

For some reason, I always have left over pie crust.  Its really not that traumatizing – in fact, I’m pretty pumped every time I have some left over because I get to make this treat!  This is something my mom always did with her left over pie crust.

On a side note, I hate food waste so several recipes I’m going to be sharing in the near future have to do with using up some of those pesky ingredients we often have left over during Holiday baking…like egg whites!  I found myself swimming in those things after Thanksgiving (let’s talk TEN egg whites), so I had to get creative…

Okay, so back to my pie crust “cinnamon roll.”  First I’ll give you a sweet pie crust recipe that never fails – its buttery, flaky, and delicious…and then I’ll teach you the art of the cinnamon roll.  Its really complicated, so try not to get overwhelmed.  I kid, I kid – this is so easy that you should feel guilty opting to throw away the extra dough!

Sweet Pie Crust:

  • 2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3 TBS granulated sugar
  • 2 sticks cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 2 egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 4 TBS ice water (plus more if needed)

The really easy way to do this is to throw everything in a food processor and pulse until everything is combined, adding more water one TBS at a time if needed.

If you don’t have a food processor, then combine the flour and sugar in a large mixing bowl.  Cut in the butter using a pastry blender until its pea-sized.  Add remaining ingredients and combine until the dough sticks together, adding additional water one TBS at a time if needed.  Refrigerate crust for at least 30 minutes before rolling out.

And now for the left overs…

Roll that left over crust out, brush with melted butter and sprinkle generously with granulated sugar and cinnamon.  Roll the dough like you would a cinnamon roll and seal all the edges.  Place on a baking sheet and brush roll with additional melted butter.  Bake that little guy for 10-12 minutes (or until the crust is golden brown) at about 350°.  Let it cool slightly before cutting it into 2 inch pieces.

Categories: American, Desserts, Recipes, Snacks | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Pie Crust “Cinnamon Roll”

  1. Looks pretty tasty and I hate wasting food too.

  2. Me too! It’s hard to make the exact amount. I tend to make little jam tarts with it, but I may attempt something more interesting next time, thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Pingback: Maple Bourbon Pecan Pie « foodistherapy

  4. Pingback: Cooking in a Small Space « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

