Mini Pumpkin Pies – The Light Version

Before we get started, I am going to offer up an apology.  My blog is about to get SUPER lame for the next two months.  Seriously, its going to be bad and here’s why: while you think I am this young, little thing without a worry in the world besides what I am going to cook next, I’m actually an 80-year-old woman with bunions.  Okay, so I’m not really 80, but I do seriously have bunions that have been made unbearable by my addiction to stiletto heels.  Mmmmm, stilettos.  So basically, I have to have my left bunion removed on Monday (had the right one done in February) which means I’m off my feet for quite some time.  Totally lame-o.  If only I didn’t love shoes so much…if it were socially acceptable to go barefoot all the time, I could totally put this off for several more years.

In short foot surgery = can’t stand on two feet for at least 6 weeks = no cooking for Lauren.  However, Branden will be taking over the cooking, so hopefully he’ll have some things to share with you over the next two months (of course, I’ll be posting them because we all know he doesn’t really have the desire to post).

All that jazz aside, I figured I should share a quick fall/Thanksgiving recipe before I go down for the count (seeing as it will be Thanksgiving by the time I’m back to “normal”).  So who doesn’t love a good pumpkin pie?  If you don’t, stop here.  Sorry!

This is actually a light version of pumpkin pie that surprisingly tastes pretty darn close the real deal – Branden actually really likes this recipe and he normally hates slimmed down baked goods.  Let’s be honest, slimmed down baked goods are often disgusting.  My theory is, you might as well make the real deal so that you actually enjoy it and chalk it up as a loss in the calorie department…that is, until I found a version of this recipe last year.

If you want to make a full pie instead of individual ones, double all the ingredients for the filling and bake at the same temp for 50 minutes or until set.

Enjoy!

  • 4 sheets Phyllo dough
  • 1/4 c. packed, dark brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 3/4 c. canned pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 c. fat free evaporated milk
  • 1/4 c. egg whites or egg substitute
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350º.  Lightly coat 6 ramekins with cooking spray.

Cut phyllo sheets in sixths*.  Place 1/6 phyllo in ramekin and lightly coat with cooking spray.  Top with another 1/6, placing corners just to the right of the previous sheet’s corners.  Repeat with two more pieces of phyllo.  Place ramekins on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes or until slightly browned.

Whisk together dry ingredients in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, evaporated milk, egg, and vanilla.  Gradually whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients.

Divide filling evenly among ramekins.  Bake until set, about 40 minutes.  Cool completely before serving.

*Tip for working with phyllo: keep it covered with a damp cloth until you’re ready to use it as it dries out really quickly.  Store any unused dough in the freezer for later.

Categories: American, Desserts, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Mini Pumpkin Pies – The Light Version

  1. I hope surgery goes as well as possible and you don’t go stir crazy. Thanks for sharing a Thanksgiving recipe early.

    • Thanks! I always get worried about the stir crazy, especially because I hate sitting knowing there’s all these little projects around the house that need done. I’ve already cleaned cupboards and ripped up my flower beds this week in preparation :) One could say I’m a tad OCD?

  2. Stop wearing silly shoes! Hope it all goes well though. This recipe sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

