Breakfast Twist: Bacon Maple Waffles

I’m always up for new breakfast ideas, so when I stumbled upon this recipe that offered combining salty bacon and sweet maple syrup I was intrigued.  These were really yummy and I think I’m going to use them next time as a base for Chicken ‘n Waffles – I just need to master the art of fried chicken first!

Eat these up fresh as Branden informed me that they were awesome the first day and not so awesome the second day.  He said they had a “weird” taste?  I don’t know, but that’s the rumor on the street so eat them while they’re hot and you won’t be disappointed.

Tip: Only use real maple syrup.  Honestly, once you start using real maple syrup, you’ll never want to go back to Mrs. Butterworth EVER again!  Promise!

And a final side note…a Belgian waffle maker is optimal for these waffles, but we only have my parent’s waffle maker that they got when they got married…30 years ago.  It still works (it heats so hot you could fry an egg on the lid!), so I can’t really justify replacing it yet.  When the time comes, I definitely have my eye on a Cuisinart waffle iron/griddle/grill!  Christmas is coming (hint, hint)!

Enjoy!

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 TBS baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 c. 2% milk
  • 3 TBS maple syrup
  • 2 TBS butter, melted
  • 4 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten

Place flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl; stir with a whisk.  Make a well in the center of mixture.  Combine milk, 3 TBS syrup, butter, bacon, and eggs, stirring with a whisk.  Add milk mixture to flour mixture; stir just until moist.

Preheat a waffle iron.  Coat iron with cooking spray.  Spoon 1/3 c. per waffle (in the case of the old school waffle iron, I did 2/3 cup to cover my iron more evenly).  Cook 4 to 5 minutes or until steaming stops; repeat procedure with remaining batter.  Serve waffles with fresh butter and maple syrup.

Cooking Light

Categories: American, Breakfast, Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Breakfast Twist: Bacon Maple Waffles

  1. I think I just added waffle iron to my grocery list.

  2. oooh this sounds great! i made brown sugar bacon waffles (http://thepajamachef.com/2010/10/20/brown-sugar-bacon-waffles/) last fall that were really good, but i think i’ll have to try these too :)

  3. What a lovely idea. The perfect breakfast. I’ve never even seen a waffle iron, but clearly I should get one, they look so pleasingly perfect.

  4. I love bacon waffles and actually use a sherry/maple syrup on mine: http://sports-glutton.com/2011/01/18/bacon-waffles-w-sherry-syrup/

    Cheers!

  5. Oh, I need these! I need these bad! You had me at bacon and swooning at maple!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

