Best. Condiment. Ever. Garlic Aioli!

Once upon a time, I hated sweet potatoes.  I mean really hated them.  To me a potato wasn’t supposed to be sweet and quite frankly they made me gag.  I was a bit of a weirdo.  I bet if they weren’t called potatoes,  I probably wouldn’t have had such an issue – I clearly got caught up on the way things were supposed to taste and a sweet potato did NOT taste like a potato.  I had similar qualms with other foods too:

  • I only liked yellow mustard.  Honey mustard, Dijon mustard, spicy mustard, etc. all were awful to me.  Thank goodness I got over this!
  • Dill pickles all the way.  Bread & Butter or gherkins were a no go (okay, this qualm still exists…I really only like dill pickles).  At least I’ll now eat homemade pickles

Anyways, now back to my story…one day, someone ordered fresh sweet potato chips with a side of aioli and the rest is history.  I was hooked.  Deep fry those puppies and give me a kick-butt sauce to dip them in and I’m sold!  Since then, I have come to love sweet potatoes in multiple forms (all except that classic casserole with the marshmallows…I just can’t do it).  Chips, fries, mashed, baked, etc.  I have to credit my love of sweet potatoes to the condiment that started it all: Aioli.  And here’s my favorite recipe!  (Here’s a little tip, pulverize it a little more and it becomes homemade mayonnaise you can wow your friends with).

Enjoy!

  • 1 fresh garlic clove, minced
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/8 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 3/4 c. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp. paprika

Throw garlic, lemon juice, sugar, salt, pepper, and egg yolks in a food processor and give it a quick blend.  With the food processor still running, slowly pour the olive oil in and process until blended and becoming thick.  Season with paprika and serve immediately with some sweet potato fries or grilled veggies.

Categories: Condiments, Recipes, Snacks | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Best. Condiment. Ever. Garlic Aioli!

  1. I totally agree with the statement about aioli… it is sooo delicious. I’ve only had it a few times though, it is extremely tasty with deep fried white bait. I’m a massive fan of sweet potato too. But I ,like you, didn’t quite appreciate it the first time I had it… which wasn’t too long ago actually.

  2. Looks fantastic. I’m glad you tried the fries. Sometimes it’s easier just to take a pass, when one has such qualms.

    • Oh tell me about it! I continuously keep trying foods that I don’t like because I don’t want to restrict myself…I did this with mushrooms, too. Right now I’m working on beer and olives…I can now choke down a Corona and actually like olives in things. Can’t say the same for hot dogs, though…I don’t think I’m ever going to like those (I’ve literally been trying for 10 years). Liking hot dogs and beer would make attending cookouts sooooo much more enjoyable!

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies « foodistherapy

  4. Pingback: BBQ Ribs and Sweet Potato Wedges with Lemongrass Creme Fraiche « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

