Chipotle Burrito Bowl

I was hungry for Chipotle the other night, but 1,200 calories for dinner didn’t sound like a good idea, so I decided to make my own version of that wonderul goodness (unfortunately sans that delicious tortilla).  Enter: Burrito Bowl.

This was a pretty simple meal and used a lot of staples that I already had in the house; beans, rice, onion, shrimp (in the freezer).  I also used one of those Frontera sauce packets I’ve talked about before to save some time and add a quick pop of spicy flavor.  Even though this one said it was for chicken, I wanted the smoky tomato and chile flavors without having to add roasted tomatoes and chiles to the dish, so this worked out well.  By the way, you can totaly make this with grilled chicken…I only used shrimp because I knew I could thaw it quicker and quite frankly, it sounded good.

Had I not lost my marbles, I had bought some Mexican queso to sprinkle over the top too.  Alas, its still still in my fridge, forgotten about.  Oh well, this was still yummy in my tummy.

Enjoy!

  • 2 c. cooked rice (I used basmati, but a regular long-grain white will do just fine)
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 c. fresh chopped cilantro, divided
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground curry
  • 1 TBS olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 green bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 jalepeno, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 lb. fresh shrimp
  • 1 Frontera simmer sauce package
  • 1/2 avocado, thinkly sliced
  • 1/4 cup Mexican queso (optional)

Stir the juice of the lime and 1/2 c. of cilantro into cooked rice.  Set aside.

Mix black beans, curry, and cumin in a small saucepan and heat over low until beginning to simmer.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat and saute garlic for one minute.  Add all peppers and onion and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.  Add shrimp and continue stirring until pink.  Add simmer sauce and bring to a simmer for three minutes.

To serve, place 1/2 c. of rice in bottom of bowl and layer with black beans and sauce mixture.  Top with cilantro, avocado slices, and cheese.

 

Categories: Entrees, Latin, Mexican, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Burrito Bowl

  1. I’d take that bowl, or an even bigger one. Mexican is such a great weeknight choice. OK, any night.

  2. Thanks! I can never get enough Mexican :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

