No more Zucchini: Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup

Before I get to today’s post, I must apologize for my week long hiatus.  I must confess, I went on vaca to Florida with Branden and completely forgot to queue up the blog before I left.  Whoopsie!  Oh well, after all those zucchini recipes, you were probably ready for a break from me anyways (or at least praying I would move on to some new things).  So now that we’re getting on with life, here’s a new recipe for you!

Enter: Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup.  Yummy.  This is an awesome dish that has some great fresh flavors and a tiny bit of a kick (you can obviously control the heat with more or less curry paste and/or crushed red pepper).  This is super filling as well and totally easy for a weeknight meal.  I really like thick and heaty soups, you know, the kind that are less broth and more goodies, and this soup didn’t disappoint at all.  I will definitely be making this again…especially seeing as I was greated back to Ohio by 65° and rain.  Honest to Pete, it was 90+ when I left 5 days earlier – what on earth happened?!?!  I am NOT ready for this yet.  Bring on the Indian Summer…(please?)!!!

  • 4 c. water
  • 3 c. fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 (5 3/4 oz.) pkg. pad Thai noodles
  • 1 TBS canola oil
  • 1/4 c. thinly sliced shallots
  • 3 tsp. red curry paste
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 c. chicken stock
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 2 1/2 c. shredded chicken breast (about 1 lb)
  • 1/2 c. chopped green onions
  • 2 TBS granulated sugar
  • 2 TBS fish sauce
  • 1/2 c. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • Lime wedges (for serving)

Bring 4 cups water to a boil in a large saucepan.  Add spinach; cook 30 seconds.  Remove spinach from pan with slotted spoon and place in a large bowl.  Add noodle to pan; cook 3 minutes.  Drain.  Add noodles to spinach in bowl.

Heat canola oil in pan over medium-high heat.  Add shallots and the next 5 ingredients (through garlic) to pan; saute 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Add chicken broth to pan and bring to a boil.  Add chicken and boil until cooked through, about 10 minutes.  Remove chicken from pan and allow to rest a few minutes before shredding.

Add coconut milk to broth; reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes (nows a good time to starting working on that chicken).  Add chicken, onions, sugar, and fish sauce to pan; cook 2 minutes.  Pour chicken mixture over noodle mixture in bowl.  Stir in cilantro and chiles.  Serve with lime wedges.

Adapted from Cooking Light

 

Categories: Recipes, Soup, Thai | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “No more Zucchini: Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup

  1. Yup, I was ready for people to start moving past the zucchini recipes. :-) Love curries and this soup sounds like a tasty winner.

  2. I am mourning the loss of the zucchini, but this is a good way to put it behind me. This soups sounds amazing!

  3. I had a week long hiatus too… so you are forgiven, especially since this curry sounds massively awesome. I shall have to make a note of it, it’s perfect for my taste in food.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

