Classic Zucchini Bread

Yes, I’m still going…I hope you’re not sick of zucchini or anything!  And watch out friends and family…baked goods are coming your way so I can protect my waistline!

Growing up, my Mom had this ugly, orange Betty Crocker cookbook that her mother gave her when she moved out on her own.  When I went to college, I realized that that cookbook was actually pretty valuable and contained many of my favorite classic dishes that my Mom and Grandma would make.  I started searching and couldn’t find a copy of that ugly book anywhere – apparently burnt orange was no longer the color of choice after the 70s passed?  Finally, after complaining to my Grandma that I really coveted their cookbooks, she found me my own copy…Betty Crocker had updated that book and made it a beautiful shiny red color.  They even added new recipes, guides and tips, nutrition information, additional categories, etc.  Perfect!  While its not the most gourmet cookbook I own, I still love it when I’m craving some good ole’ fashioned farm cooking…just like the food Grandma makes…thankfully with the updated editions, Betty Crocker didn’t loose sight of that original book.

So all that rambling brings me to the classic Zucchini Bread recipe, the one my Mom always made, courtesy of Betty Crocker herself.

Enjoy!

  • 3 cups shredded zucchini (2 to 3 medium)
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose or whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Move oven rack to low position so that tops of pans will be in center of oven. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease bottoms only of 2 (8×4-inch) loaf pans or 1 (9×5-inch) loaf pan with shortening or cooking spray.

In large bowl, stir zucchini, sugar, oil, vanilla and eggs until well mixed. Stir in remaining ingredients. Divide batter evenly between 8-inch pans or pour into 9-inch pan.

Bake 8-inch loaves 50 to 60 minutes, 9-inch loaf 1 hour 10 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans on cooling rack 10 minutes.  (I made 4 mini loaves and baked for 35 minutes)

Loosen sides of loaves from pans; remove from pans and place top side up on cooling rack. Cool completely, about 2 hours, before slicing. Wrap tightly and store at room temperature up to 4 days, or refrigerate up to 10 days.

Categories: American, Breads, Recipes | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Classic Zucchini Bread

  1. I’ve never ever made a cake or bread with zucchini in it. Does it taste of it at all? I don’t really like it that much… but I get the impression it might just make it nice and moist and dense :D Look lovely despite my misgivings about zucchini.

  2. Honestly, you really can’t taste it– it just makes baked goods extra moist. Since its grated, it pretty much just melts into the bread so you’re never actually going to get a big old bite of veggies :)

  3. Pingback: Tropical Zucchini Bread « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

