Zucchini Mania! Zucchini & Basil Lasagna

So this weekend, Branden brought home 10 pounds of zucchini for me “make stuff with.”  His boss apparently had an over-abundance of the stuff and Branden apparently got overly excited.  10 pounds.  What am I going to do with 10 pounds?  I’ll tell you…this week I plan on making Chocolate Zucchini Cake, Zucchini Bread, Zucchini and Basil Mini Muffins, and Parmesan Zucchini Sticks with Smoky Roasted Romesco Sauce.  Until then, I started my zucchini adventures with tonight’s dinner of Zucchini & Basil Lasagna.

So stay tuned because I clearly have zucchini coming out my ears and intend to use it in some creative ways (other than my normal favorite of plain old grilled zucchini with salt and pepper).  I probably won’t be grilling any from this batch because zucchini usually isn’t as good plain when it gets as big as these monsters…these are made for other goodies!

Enjoy!

  • 2 c. fat free cottage cheese
  • 1 c. chopped fresh basil
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 c. chopped zucchini
  • 1 c. chopped red onion
  • 2 1/2 c. bottled spicy pasta sauce (I used Classico’s Spicy Tomato for simplicity’s sake – use the whole jar)
  • 9 oven-ready lasagna noodles (this is a totally new concept to me – I never knew these existed until tonight.  I guess that’s what happens when you grow up with a chef for a Mom!)
  • 1 1/2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350º.

Combine the first 3 ingredients in a food processor; process until smooth.

Heat a large skillet lightly coated with oil over medium-high heat.  Add zucchini and onion; saute 5 minutes or until tender.  Stir in sauce and remove from heat.

Spread 1/2 c. zucchini mixture in bottom of greased 9×13″ baking dish.  Arrange 3 noodles over zucchini mixture; top with one-third cottage cheese mixture, one-third zucchini mixture, and one-third mozzarella.  Repeat procedure with the remaining noodles. cottage cheese mixture, zucchini mixture, and mozzarella.

Cover and bake for 45 minutes.  Uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes or until lasagna is thoroughly heated.

Adapted from Cooking Light, April 2003

Categories: Entrees, Italian, Pasta, Recipes | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Zucchini Mania! Zucchini & Basil Lasagna

  1. I haven’t had lasagna in forever and your recipe has got me craving some now. :-)

  2. That is just freakishly ginormous. Your arm is as big as a zucchini! OK, clearly the man who can’t grow squash is just jealous! This looks great you dainty armed lady.

  3. Pingback: foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

