Shaved Asparagus with Lemon Miso Dressing

While I was in San Francisco in May, I had this delicious dish at Bocodillos, a tapas bar near the Financial District.  Unfortunately, I’ve been dreaming about it ever since, so I set out to begin trying to piece it together.  I think I finally found a close combination of ingredients, though I think my dressing needs a tad bit of tweaking (perhaps a bit more miso?), but other than that, this recipe is pretty close to the awesome dish I had in San Francisco.  This is a delicious, fresh. and light salad that works as an entree or a side dish.

The most challenging part of this salad is shaving the asparagus.  I used a veggie peeler because I was terrified I would slice my fingers on my mandolin.  It worked pretty well…basically I snapped the ends off the spears and laid the spear on a cutting board while running the veggie peeler down the length on it.  I found laying it down was easier than holding it in the air because I had way more control (but this is just me…let me know if you find a better method).

Enjoy!

  • 1 lb. large asparagus
  • 1 bunch fresh chives
  • 1/2 bunch flat leaf parsley
  • 1/3 bunch cilantro
  • 1/4 c. minced shallot
  • 1/2 c. white miso paste
  • 6 lemons, 3 of them zested
  • 2 c. vegetable oil
  • 2/3 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 c. sliced, toasted almonds
  • 1 pkg of yellow fin tuna in olive oil (or 1/2 c. of tuna ventresca if you can actually find it – I decided against ordering it online)
  1. Prepare a bowl of ice water.  Using a mandolin or vegetable peeler, shave the asparagus lengthwise, adding it to the water as you go.  Let sit in water for 1 hour or until is becomes curly.
  2. Chop all the herbs and combine in bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Place the shallot, miso, and the lemon zest in a bowl.  Juice all the lemons and add to the bowl.  Slowly whisk into the miso, making sure to smooth out any lumps.  Whisk in the vinegar and slowly drizzle in the oil, whisking the entire time to make an emulsion.  Set aside.
  4. When ready to assemble the salad, drain the asparagus.  In a large bowl, combine the asparagus and herbs.  Add the dressing until the salad is lightly coated.  Top with almonds and tuna.
Categories: Entrees, Recipes, Salads | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Shaved Asparagus with Lemon Miso Dressing

  1. This is beautiful. I love that you tried to recreate something you ate at a restaurant. I love being inspired by good meals out.

  2. Pingback: I’m Out of Groceries…Lemon-Miso Tuna with Sauteed Shallots « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

