Spicy Coconut Shrimp Soup

This was a really yummy soup that I made the other day when it was kind of rainy and chilly outside.  Yes, chilly.  I’m rather upset about it actually, especially since everyone was talking about how it felt like fall.  But I’m not ready for fall!!  I feel like summer just started since it rained and was kind of cold the entire month of May (which was an improvement from April’s definite cold and rain).   While I love fall, I think that mid-August is the most depressing time of the year because I know up here in Ohio, September will be here before we know it,  bringing with it beautiful weather and then October comes even faster and we often see snow.  Ugh, snow.  I really do hate winter (mostly because I won’t see the sun consistently again until June)…sorry, I just had to get that off my chest!  I feel much better now…

So on to the recipe.  This was a delicious soup that is reminiscent of one of my favorite Thai dishes, Red Coconut Curry with Veggies.  YUM!  All the flavors of my my favorite dish were packed into this soup, but about half of the normal fat that comes with it.  If you’re looking for a little extra something, I would also suggest pouring the soup over some hot sticky rice before serving (I didn’t do this, but my mouth is kind of watering thinking about it right now).  To adjust the heat, use more or less curry paste.

Enjoy!

  • 3 1/2 c. chicken stock
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms (I used wood mushrooms, but shitake would be good too)
  • 1 finely chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 TBS light brown sugar
  • 1 TBS fish sauce
  • 1 tsp grated, peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 TBS red curry paste
  • 1 cup coconut milk (remember my rule here, full fat is always the best!)
  • 1 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/2 c. thinly sliced green onions
  • 2 TBS thinly sliced fresh basil
  • 2 TBS fresh lime juice

Combine the first 7 ingredients (through curry paste) in a large saucepan over medium-high heat; bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes.  Stir in coconut milk, cook 2 minutes or until hot.  Add shrimp to pan; cook 3 minutes or until shrimp are done.  Remove pan from heat, stir in onions, basil, and juice.

Adapted from Cooking Light, March 2008

Categories: Asian, Entrees, Recipes, Soup, Thai | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Spicy Coconut Shrimp Soup

  1. Great recipe, but unlike you I’m so ready for fall. Although, it won’t help my garden, hmm….

    • That’s my other problem with August…it means we only have a couple more weeks until the first potential frost. Bye, bye fresh veggies :(

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

