Sun-dried Turkey Burgers with Basil Aioli

I probably shouldn’t be posting this in light of the ground turkey recall (which happened three days after I made these burgers with a package of the recalled meat), but they were delicious and I’m still here to tell about them!  Honestly, as long as you thoroughly cook ground turkey (or any meat for that matter), you’re generally safe.  I have a instant read meat thermometer that’s great for grilling to ensure that I’m going to survive my meal.

These burgers were awesome and I loved the basil aioli.  Usually I make my own aioli (because it tastes sooooooo much better), but I was short on time and knew that if I made it fresh, I would end up dipping my sweet potato fries in it which in turn would put my diet and cholesterol through the ringer.  On a side note…fresh aioli makes an excellent condiment to sweet potato fries and chips…just saying (I’ll share my favorite recipe to date for fresh aioli soon…which can be beat to death a little more to morph into mayo if that’s more your cup of tea)!

Enjoy!

  • 1 1/4 lb. ground turkey breast
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 TBS ground cumin
  • 1 TBS white pepper
  • 1 TBS dried oregano
  • 1 TBS dried onion
  • 1/4 c. (2 oz.) crumbled goat cheese
  • 1/4 c. sun-dried tomatoes (I used dried that I rehydrated for a few minutes in warm water, but feel free to use the oil-packed variety as well)
  • Lettuce
  • 4 burger rolls
  • 4 tomato slices (optional)
  • Red onion slices, grilled (optional)
  1. Prepare grill.
  2. Combine first 9 ingredients.  Divide turkey mixture into 4 equal portions, shaping each into a 1/2-inch patty.
  3. Place patties on a grill rack coasted with cooking spray; grill 8 minutes on each side or until a thermometer registers 165°.
  4. Lightly spray buns with cooking spray (I prefer Crisco’s Olive Oil spray) and toast on the grill.  Remove and set aside.
  5. Place lettuce, burger, tomato, and grilled onion on bun.  Spread basil aioli (following) on inside of bun and place on top of burger.  Excellent with sweet potato fries (I tossed mine in olive oil and Branden’s spice rub before placing under the broiler until browned and tender).

Basil Aioli

  • 1/4 c. mayonnaise (I like Kraft’s Olive Oil Mayo as a store-bought variety)
  • 1 TBS chopped fresh basil
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 garlic clove, minced

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk.

Categories: American, Condiments, Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sun-dried Turkey Burgers with Basil Aioli

  1. They look great and recalls are bound to happen, so don’t feel bad about posting. Someone could always use really lean sirloin if they were still worried.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

