Green Curry with Bok Choy

I’ve never cooked with tofu before but was curious.  I’ve had it before at Asian restaurants and didn’t mind it so I thought I’d take a stab at it in this Thai dish…it saved me about 100 calories per serving versus chicken, so what did I have to loose?

As for the flavors of this dish?  Awesome.  I will definitely be making this sauce again.  The original recipe called for reduced fat coconut milk, but I know I’ve sworn up and down in other posts that I just can’t do it…I have to use full-fat coconut milk; its just not worth the flavor sacrifice to me (plus, it holds up better as its not near as runny when heated as reduced fat or fat free).  This sauce was simple and really delicious- I think I’m going to use this sauce as a base for my next attempt at recreating Branden and I’s favorite Coconut Chicken Curry from a hole-in-the-wall Middle-Eastern restaurant in Athens, Ohio that we love.  I have been working diligently to try to recreate it over the last year or so with some semi-success…I’ll let you know how this next attempt goes!

Now you’re probably wondering about my thoughts on tofu.  Interesting.  I think next time beside draining it, I may try pan frying it before adding it to the curry.  Reason being is because even though I used extra-firm tofu, I felt it started to fall apart the more I stirred the dish (and even more so as leftovers).  My thought with pan frying it would be that it would kind of form a crust around the pieces that would hold them together…my theory could be totally wrong here, but its worth a shot next time.  I also think this dish would be really yummy with chicken or shrimp as well (another “next time”).

Enjoy!

  • 1/2 c. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 TBS chopped, peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 8 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 small Serrano chiles, seeded (I couldn’t’ find Serrano (surprise, surprise) so I used 3 jalapenos instead)
  • 2 large shallots, coarsely chopped
  • 4 c. coarsely chopped broccoli florets (about 1 head)
  • 2 c. (1/2 inch thick) slices bok choy
  • 2 tsp. dark sesame oil
  • 4 tsp sugar
  • 1 TBS soy sauce
  • 3/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 3 kaffir lime leaves (I found some that were dried, similar to bay leaves, since fresh are so hard to find around here.  Not quite the same, but they’re better than nothing.  Look for these at specialty Asian grocers)
  • 1 (13.5 oz.) can coconut milk
  • 1 (14 oz.) pkg water-packed, organic extra firm tofu, drained and cut into 3/4″ cubes
  • 1/4 c. fresh lime juice
  • 2 cups hot, cooked long-grain white rice (I used jasmine)
  • 1/4 c. chopped fresh basil
  • 2 TBS chopped fresh mint
  1. Combine first 7 ingredients in a food processor; process until smooth (may need to add 1/2 c. of water to make smooth).  Set aside
  2. Cook broccoli florets in boiling water in a large dutch oven for 3 minutes or until crisp tender.  Remove broccoli from water with a slotted spoon, drain, and rinse with cold water.  Drain and set aside.
  3. Heat Dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add oil to pan, swirling to coat.  Add cilantro mixture to pan; saute 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Add sugar and next 4 ingredients (through coconut milk) to pan; bring to a boil.  Add tofu; cover, reduce heat, and simmer 6 minutes or until slightly thick.  Add broccoli, bok choy, and juice; cook 1 minutes or until heated; tossing to combine.  Discard lime leaves.  Serve over rice and sprinkle with basil and mint.

Adapted from Cooking Light, January 2011

Categories: Asian, Entrees, Recipes, Thai | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Green Curry with Bok Choy

  1. I love all the flavors going on here. I cook with tofu, but seldom. Great recipe and post.

  2. &rea

    Super yumz!! Looks amazing! <3 tofu!!!!!

    http://www.mangledlollipop.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

