Jamaican Chicken Stew

For those of you who haven’t noticed, I am all about a quick weeknight dinner that tastes like I slaved over it for hours.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to cook  so I don’t mind spending hours on end in the kitchen, but sometimes I’m just whooped by the time I get home from work and errands at 6:30 on most weeknights.  Since I don’t exactly want to be eating dinner at 10 p.m., I rely heavily on easy weeknight dinners that taste great…like this one.  This was a major hit with Branden, too (who said we “definitely are making this again”).  Now that I moved away from “diet” recipes and have been focusing on more well rounded, high protein and high fiber recipes (packed with lots of flavor), I’ve had a much happier husband.  Lesson learned.

This recipe is delicious and a tad spicy which is nice.  I served it over jasmine rice (mostly because I like the flavor and texture better than plain white rice), but use whatever you’d like.  Other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing!

Enjoy!

  • 1 cup uncooked Jasmine rice (or other long-grained rice)
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 c. dry red wine
  • 2 TBS. capers (drained)
  • 1 (15 oz.) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (14.5 oz.) can fire roasted tomatoes, undrained
  1. Prepare rice according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.
  2. While rice cooks, heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and garlic, saute 3 minutes or until tender.  Combine chicken and the next 5 ingredients (through black pepper) in a bowl.  Add chicken mixture to skillet; saute 4 minutes.  Stir in wine, capers, beans, and tomatoes.  Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until tender.  Serve over rice.
Categories: Entrees, Latin, Recipes | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Jamaican Chicken Stew

  1. Jamaican me hungry. Oh that was bad! This looks great. I like it a tad on the hot side too.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

