Soba Noodle Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

I was desperate for a fresh tasting and healthy Asian dish the other night, so I was pretty pumped when I found this recipe.  It was so delicious that I ate more than I should have, but I couldn’t help it (not to mention I was starving).  My only word of caution with this recipe is the vinaigrette kind of absorbs into the noodles when saved.  While this was decent packed in my lunch the next day, I was kind of sad that the flavors had melded together.  My advice would be if you know you’re going to have leftovers, toss each serving individually in a portion of the vinaigrette only when ready to serve.  Other than that, this dish was really yummy and I have no complaints!

Enjoy!

  • 1 (8-ounce) pkg soba noodles (look for these in the Asian/Japanese section of the grocery store)
  • 1 1/4 c. frozen, shelled edamame
  • 3/4 c. matchstick-cut carrots
  • 1/3 c. sliced green onions
  • Small handful fresh, chopped cilantro
  • 1 1/2 tsp chopped serrano chile (I had to use a seeded jalapeno because my grocer didn’t have Serrano peppers, much to my dismay)
  • 1 lb. peeled and deveined medium shrimp (31-40 ct)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 TBS fresh orange juice
  • 2 TBS fresh lime juice
  • 1 TBS low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 TBS dark sesame oil
  • 1 TBS olive oil
  1. Cook noodles in boiling water for 7 minutes or until almost al dente.  Add frozen edamame to pan; cook 1 minutes or until thoroughly heated.  Drain.  Place noodle mixture in a large bowl.  Add carrots, onions, cilantro, and chile; toss.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Sprinkle shrimp with salt and pepper.  Coat pan with cooking spray.  Add shrimp; cook 1 1/2 minutes on each side.  Add shrimp to noodle mixture.
  3. Combine orange juice and remaining ingredients in a bowl, stirring well with a whisk.  Drizzle juice mixture over noodle mixture; toss well.

Cooking Light December 2007

Categories: Asian, Entrees, Pasta, Recipes | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Soba Noodle Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

  1. What a fresh, light and super tasty meal idea. I’m getting way too hungry looking at food blogs today!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

