Chicken Shawarma

Yum, yum, yum.  I love Middle Eastern food- the spices, the cool yogurt sauces, and the bread!  Today’s recipe combines my favorite elements of Middle Eastern food into one quick, easy, and healthy dinner.  The recipe calls for grilling the chicken, but I didn’t feel like dragging the grill out for just myself, so I cooked my chicken in a non-stick fry pan (without oil to save on some calories).  While I’m sure the grill would add some extra flavor I can’t harness from a pan, the chicken was still tender and delicious.  Maybe I’ll grill next time when I make this for Branden (in other words, I’ll have him grill the chicken).

Enjoy!

For the Chicken:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 3 inch pieces
  • 2 TBS fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced

For the Sauce:

  • 1/2 c. plain 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt (I really like Fage – its what I ate everyday in Greece)
  • 2 TBS tahini
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 clove fresh garlic, minced

For Serving

  • 4 6″ pitas
  • 1 cup chopped romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 English cucumber, julienned
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, sliced
  1. Preheat grill to medium-high heat
  2. To prepare chicken, combine ingredients in medium bowl.  Add chicken to bowl, toss well to coat.  Let stand at room temperature for 20 minutes.
  3. To prepare sauce, combine ingredients well.
  4. Thread 2 chicken strips onto each of 6 (12″) skewers.  Place kebabs on a grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 4 minutes on each side or until done.
  5. Place pitas on grill rack; grill 1 minute on each side or until lightly toasted.  Place 1 pita on each of 4 plates; top each serving with 1/4 cup of lettuce and tomato slices.  Top each serving with 4 chicken pieces; drizzle each with 2 TBS of sauce.

Cooking Light: July 2008

Categories: Entrees, Indian, Recipes | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Chicken Shawarma

  1. Looks fantastic. Love the presentation. I’d pile mine just a little, OK a lot, higher!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

