Half-Hour Chicken Gumbo

How is it possible to make chicken gumbo in 30 minutes?  If you cut a couple corners here and there with this recipe, you’ll see that its possible to enjoy gumbo any night of the week!  The rotisserie chicken not only is convenient, but it adds awesome flavor that you won’t get from plain, old boiled chicken.

Enjoy!

  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 red bell peppers (ribs and seeds removed), chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 TBS cumin
  • 1 TBS chile powder
  • 1 TBS paprika
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen, cut okra
  • 8 ounces smoked (precooked) andouille sausage, halved lengthwise and sliced 1 inch thick – I used Bilinski’s Cajun-Style Andouille sausage to lower the calories
  • 1 rotisserie chicken (about 2 1/2 pounds), skin and bones removed, meat shredded (about 4 cups)
  • Cornbread, for serving (optional)**
  1. In a 5-quart Dutch oven or heavy-bottomed pot, heat oil over medium. Add flour, and cook, whisking constantly, until pale golden, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in bell peppers, onion, garlic, oregano and spices; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are crisp-tender, 10 to 12 minutes.
  2. Add 4 cups water; stir in okra and sausage. Bring to a boil. Stir in shredded chicken, and warm through, 1 to 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper; if desired, serve with cornbread.

**On a side note, I learned a little lesson in the kitchen when I decided to make cornbread to serve with this meal.  I forgot that I ran out of milk and was at a loss on how to make cornbread with what I had on hand.  I referenced one of my favorite books, The Food Substitutions Bible (which is particularly handy seeing I live in an area where I can never seem to find all the ingredients I need), but came up a bit short – I didn’t have any of the substitutions suggested.  When I opened my fridge, I found Greek yogurt and figured, why not?  I subbed a cup of Greek yogurt for the milk and was really skeptical as I smeared the batter in the pan with my hands because it was so thick.  Surprisingly, the corn bread came out extra moist and the flavor was just right.  Who knew?!

– Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Great Food Fast
Categories: American, Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Half-Hour Chicken Gumbo

  1. As soon as I saw the okra, I was sold. Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

