Cleaning out the Fridge: Egg White Frittata with Summer Vegetables & Goat Cheese

I had some leftover veggies in the fridge from dinner earlier this week and some leftover egg whites from making homemade ice cream (at least my diet is balanced, right?), so I whipped up this dish which turned out quite delicious…in fact, I may intentionally make this again in the near future.  This was obviously super easy and great for a weeknight dinner.  Added bonus?  You’re looking at around 230 calories for the whole thing…and look at the portion size!

In case you haven’t picked up on it yet based on a lot of my meals being healthy, my doc changed my diet again recently due to high cholesterol thanks to my not-exactly-working thyroid.  That being said, I’m now supposed to be eating only 1,400 calories a day (yikes!) for the next few months.  Its been a week and I haven’t passed out yet, but there are some days that I’m absolutely starving!  I’m really trying to skinny down my meals and portion sizes to make sure that I have a balanced diet without sacrificing my favorite foods.  Wish me luck!  I think stepping up my calories burned might help me so I can splurge every once in awhile…look out gym, I’m going to be becoming a permanent fixture…

  • 1 TBS olive oil
  • 3/4 c. chopped zucchini
  • 1/4 c. chopped red onion
  • 1/2 small red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. white pepper
  • 5 egg whites
  • 1 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
  1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add vegetables and spices and saute until tender.  Set aside.
  2. In a non-stick skillet, add egg whites and cook until almost set before flipping.
  3. Plate finished frittata and pour vegetable mixture over top.  Sprinkle with goat cheese.
Categories: Breakfast, Entrees, Recipes | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Cleaning out the Fridge: Egg White Frittata with Summer Vegetables & Goat Cheese

  1. We make dishes like this all the time with leftover vegetables. This looks wonderful.

  2. Thank you!

  3. Pingback: White Bean Souffle with Thyme & Garlic « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

