Food Find: EarthFare – The Healthy Supermarket

I was working at our office in Akron this week and decided to stop in the recently-opened EarthFare market in Montrose.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  I think I got so excited upon walking in the door for two reasons:  1.  I sometimes feel deprived with the grocery selection in the town we live in (and just the produce section here was better than I’m used to) and 2.  The prices were decent and much of the food was organic!  I grabbed a cart and began my culinary adventure immediately!

Honestly, the prices were decent.  There were a few things that I thought were a bit expensive here and there, but then again, they were more rare items like morel mushrooms and dried goji berries.  I ended up trying to restrain myself a bit and ended up with a hodge podge of chocolate covered banana chips (from the bulk food barrels), sun dried tomato chicken breakfast sausages, yellow baby carrots, mild mushrooms, organic tortilla chips (a giant bag for $2.99), guacamole starter, Australian-style yogurt, and udon noodles.  Yes, I told you, it was random but the items I purchased are things I sometimes struggle to find.  There was an awesome seafood and meat department, fresh ravioli, a high-end cheese counter, bakery, pastry counter, wine and beer section, a large organic health section, and pre-made meals (which you can enjoy in their cafe or take home).  I knew I wouldn’t have a ton of time to make dinner, so I stopped by the sandwich counter and grabbed a Turkey, Brie, and Cranberry Panini and fresh fruit cup for dinner (see picture).  Seriously, this $6.49 meal was worth every penny and I was mildly depressed when I finished it.

If I know I’m going to be making something “exotic” (at least by rural Ohio standards) for dinner, I will definitely be making the trip to EarthFare for their wonderful selection and decent prices.  Check it out!

Categories: Shopping | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Food Find: EarthFare – The Healthy Supermarket

  1. Isn’t it fun to splurge at places like that? My wife actually put a ban on trips to one of the fancy markets across town. We went there for my birthday, our anniversary and Valentine’s Day and I swear we just go crazy there. The last time she went she said OK we need to not go back until fall. We’ll see…

  2. Pingback: Goat Cheese Tomato Soup. Oh yea. « foodistherapy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

