Orange Marmalade Cookies

I think I’ve mentioned before that I much prefer cooking over baking mostly because baking is too scientific and doesn’t leave a lot of room for error.  I hate the fact that I can make the same recipe several times and each time could turn out differently because of the weather.  Ugh.  So that’s exactly what happened this past weekend…I saw this awesome recipe on Sweet Pea’s blog for Orange Marmalade Cookies and had to try them.  The pictures looked incredible and folks had commented about how they loved this recipe.  What could possibly go wrong?!

I love orange marmalade, so I knew that I was most likely going to enjoy these cookies…if only the conditions had been right.  Let’s start with the fact that it was 80 degrees in my house that day.  Yes 80°.  No, I don’t have air conditioning.  Why on earth was I baking when it was that hot you may ask?  Good question.  I must be nuts.

Combine the outrageous temperature in the house with the fact that my oven temperature isn’t always accurate and I ended up with flat cookies and frosting that I couldn’t get to set to save my soul.  I’m honestly not going to post a picture of this disaster because quite frankly, its embarrassing how bad they look.  Despite the lack of visual appeal, the cookies were delicious which leads me to believe that under different conditions, I might be successful baking these cookies.  Maybe I’ll try again when it cools down.  Until then, check out Sweet Pea’s blog and drool over her photograph of these yummy cookies.  Thanks, Sweet Pea!

Categories: Desserts, Recipes | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Orange Marmalade Cookies

  1. We made those cookies and they’re fabulous. No that’s not me trying to rub it in just second the call to check out Sweet Pea’s great blog! I feel your pain about cooking in the heat too. Thankfully, we have AC. But since it routinely gets above 100 in the summer, we really have to.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

