Restaurant Review: Giordano’s, Chicago

Its been a busy month of traveling for us again; between Branden and I, we were in California, Texas, Indiana, Illinois, and Pennsylvania.  That being said, we’ve eaten out a LOT lately which is good for discovering new restaurants, but not so good for the wasteline (you’re going to see a lot of “healthy” recipes coming in the near future as I try to counteract May’s eating spree).  Last weekend we were in Chicago and found a couple gems we thought were worth sharing.

Our first Chicago adventure was to search out a traditional Chicago deep dish pizza.  Friends that live in the city suggested Giordano’s so we decided to give it a shot.  There was an incredibly long wait to get in the door, but we were able to “pre-order” our pizza so it would be ready faster when we finally were seated.  We ordered the “Tropic Delight” with pineapple, ham, and Canadian bacon, one of my favorite pizza combinations!  You can’t beat the salty ham and bacon combined with sweet tomato sauce and pineapple.  YUM!

Overall, I really liked the Chicago-style deep dish served up piping hot and flowing with gooey cheese at Giordano’s.  If you’re not a fan of TONS of cheese, this is not the place for you.  Might I suggest not eating all of the crust though?  While the crust was good, I would rather leave some room in my belly for the pizza itself.  There was so much crust that I was afraid it would swell in my stomach and my pizza nirvana would quickly come to an end.

Even though this is a tourist hot-spot, it was worth checking out to experience something Chi-town is famous for.  Branden also went in search of the best Chicago hot dog (an endeavour I did not participate in out of sheer disgust) and landed on Downtown Dog in case you’re interested.  It looked gross to me, but he loved it so much that he wanted to go back.  Sick.

Categories: Italian, Restaurants | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Giordano’s, Chicago

  1. Normally, I’m a thin crust guy. But I think I’d have to eat that crust and all!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

