Restaurant Roundup: Eating in the San Francisco Financial District

During my time in the Financial District each day, I often was in search of a decent, quick meal that wasn’t from a traditional fast food restaurant.  I’ve compiled this brief list of a few places I tried that didn’t necessarily need an entire post, but could be helpful to someone traveling for business in San Francisco.

Rotee Express

I really enjoy some good Indian food, so when my class’ instructor told me that Rotee Express had good Indian takeout, I was intrigued.  For around $10, you get your choice of two entrees (the selections change daily), rice, and naan bread.  Not too bad for San Francisco where the prices for a meal can be a bit steep.  I was more than happy with with the food quality and the flavors were more than you would expect for Indian takeout (a foreign concept where I come from).

Specialty’s

These little bakeries are all over the city and tout fresh baked goods sold through the windows on the street.  Everything here is incredibly fresh and delicious.  I had a breakfast egg sandwich here one morning that was excellent and made to order.  I also sampled a few of their cookies including a dark chocolate cookie with white chocolate chunks and a oatmeal, buckwheat, and chocolate chip cookie, both which were warm and delicious.  I’ve heard that you have to eat the cookies while they’re fresh or they turn rock solid due to the lower than usual fat content.  Specialty’s is worth checking out if you’re looking for quick baked goods on the go.

Seller’s Markets Artisan Kitchen

Seller’s Markets are a chain of local restaurants and stands spread throughout the Financial District in San Fran.  The whole premise is that its a restaurant that uses local food and practices sustainability.  Obviously, the food is organic and its made to order.  I had a turkey sandwich on sourdough with arugula, Havarti cheese, and avocados that was paired with a fresh bowl of tomato bisque, perfect for a chilly, rainy day.  If you’re looking for a quick, healthy lunch, you’ll find it at Seller’s Markets.

Out the Door (The Slanted Door takeout)

The famed Vietnamese restaurant called The Slanted Door that is located in the Ferry Building on the bay has a takeout version that’s also located in the Ferry Building.  Out the Door features daily specials like Lemongrass Chicken over Vermicelli.  The regular menu includes fresh and fried spring rolls, steamed buns, fresh salads, and a selected of Boba teas.  Very yummy, healthy, and most of all fresh!

Cafe Madeleine’s

We found this French bakery one morning while walking to our training and decided we had to stop based on the gorgeous display of French pastries in the display case.  Since breakfast time probably wasn’t the most appropriate time to have a chocolate-laden pastry, I settled on a ham and cheese croissant and a latte.  I have to say, my croissant was pretty close to those I enjoyed while actually in France, soCafe Madeleine’s was a nice, unexpected trip down memory lane for me.  Get there early, as the breakfast pastries tend to get picked over rather quickly!

Categories: American, French, Indian, Restaurants, Thai | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

