Kitchen Experiment: Caprese Pasta

I bet you’re ready for a break from restaurant reviews in San Francisco, especially since you’re most likely not actually there!  Have no fear, I have more reviews coming but I’m breaking them up with some other stuff as to not bore anyone.  And guess what…I’m going to Chicago for the weekend, so I’ll have some fun stuff to share from our foodie adventures there.  Branden is already staking out the best dives for hot dogs and deep dish pizza…I couldn’t care less about the hot dogs, but we’ll let him have his fun.

Above being said, here’s the skinny on today’s post.  If you couldn’t tell by now, I  love caprese salad.  Something about fresh mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes together in harmony just makes me weak at the knees.  So after eating two different versions of caprese salad in the last week (since tomatoes are slowly coming into season), I decided I needed to mix is up a little bit.  The result: Caprese Pasta.  I totally made this recipe up, so I don’t have exact measurements.  It was most likely an anomaly that it turned out so good, but hey, we can always hope for the best in the future!

I purchased a pound of fresh 21-25 shrimp and placed on skewers for easy grilling.  I seasoned them with some sea salt, fresh cracked black pepper, italian seasoning (salt free), and a little red pepper for a kick.  Branden grilled them to perfection to later be thrown in the pasta mixture.

For the pasta, I used 1 pound of penne pasta cooked al dente.  For the sauce, in a large saute pan, I heated about 2 TBS olive oil and sautéed one large clove of garlic for about a minute.  I then thew in 4 not-quite-ripe medium tomatoes, cut into large chunks and 1/2 cup white wine.  I seasoned the tomato mixture with a bit of sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper and brought the mixture to a simmer, stirring frequently.  I reduced the mixture a tad before throwing on the cooked pasta.  I then stirred in a generous handful of fresh basil, juilienned, fresh mozzarella pearls, and the grilled shrimp.  The result was utter bliss in a bowl.  Branden and I ate way too much and he asked me to make it again in a few days when we returned from our trip.  Needless to say, I think I created a new hit.

Don’t like shrimp?  Branden and I agreed that this dish would be just as delicious with grilled chicken, which I imagine we’ll be trying in the near future!

Categories: Entrees, Italian, Recipes | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Experiment: Caprese Pasta

  1. Great idea and very easy to play with if you don’t like shrimp. I love it! And keep those reviews coming. San Francisco is such a great restaurant town.

  2. This looks so easy and really yummy! I had caprese salad recently but never thought about turning it into a dinner. Just found your blog, love your about me, you’re so down to earth and realistic about eating, i love it!

    • Thanks for the kind words! To make your Caprese Salad a little more filling as a meal, you can always throw some grilled chicken in there too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

