Restaurant Review: Ghirardelli Café, Ghirardelli Square, San Francisco

Chocolate.  Ghirardelli has to be some of my favorite chocolate, both for snacking and for baking- its incredibly smooth and rich and melts like a dream.  I was super excited to visit Ghirardelli Square in San Francisco and stop by the café for some hot chocolate, especially since the San Francisco winds can get a tad chilly while out walking around.

I could smell Ghirardelli Square and the café the closer I got to it and began to get even more excited.  Inside, I was overwhelmed by all the varieties of chocolate and their extensive menu of chocolaty treats.  I settled on the “Drinking Chocolate” served with pistachio biscotti (which I later discovered was basically liquid gold).  Words can not even begin to describe the rich, chocolate flavor of this dark chocolate drink.  The best way I can put it is that I felt like I was drinking and liquefied version of their 65% dark chocolate bar. My co-worker actually prefers milk chocolate over dark chocolate and still really enjoyed this drink as well.  It was served in a small cup, but I honestly couldn’t have drunk anymore because it was so rich.  Whoever decided that it needed to be served with biscotti was a genius because it helped to cut the richness of the chocolate.

If you ever find yourself in San Francisco and don’t mind fighting the other chocolate-crazed tourists, the Ghirardelli Café should be a stop on your list of foodie places.  I’m not normally a huge fan of tourist-ravaged food places (I much prefer to dine with the locals), but this place is worth it if you love chocolate.  Besides, the Ghirardelli gift shop is right next door…

Categories: American, Restaurants | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Ghirardelli Café, Ghirardelli Square, San Francisco

  1. We’ve never done this in San Fran. I know for shame. I think I’d go for the biscotti alone.

    • Honestly, the biscotti was rubbish from a culinary standpoint (it came in a wrapper). It didn’t taste bad at all, it just wasn’t fresh as I assume you imagine it would be. Check Ghirardelli out though- they had an amazing menu of ice cream sundae concoctions as well!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

