And Away We Go…

I’m struggling with where to start here because April has been so full of adventures in the food world.  Branden and I have been traveling a lot this month which took us to some AWESOME restaurants.  And then we had Easter and Branden’s birthday which of course led to more food adventures!  Ah!  So much to share, so little time!

Alas, I shall just start with dinner tonight and get to the other recipes that I can’t wait to share in the coming days…[SPOILER ALERT: I have some Mexican recipes and two cake recipes in the queue for this week, so stay tuned!]

The weekday dinner.  Always a challenge.  I struggle on weekdays a bit because I’m often cooking for one during the week while Branden’s out flying around the country.  Combine the idea of cooking for one with the fact that I don’t like to stay up late and you have the following challenge: make a meal that’s fast and relatively simple that either serves one or can be easily reheated.  Tonight was no different.  I needed something satisfying and I was sick of the salmon caesar salads I have been recently living off of because of my obsession with my homemade croutons…but that’s a whole other post.

The verdict: Tandoori Chicken.  This dinner is seriously so easy, its embarassing.  Golden Temple has a whole line of simmer sauces that make weeknight Indian dishes a cinch.  Brown a pound of cut up boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a skillet, pour the simmer sauce over, and give it a stir.  As the name suggests, let the sauce simmer and you’re good to go.  I served over basmati rice and topped with a fresh cilantro and a little greek yogurt concoction I stirred up.

Greek Yogurt is an obsession of mine, especially in savory dishes.  I began my relationship with this amazing condiment (yes, I consider it a condiment and I usually have it on hand in my fridge) while spending a month in Greece a few years ago.  Its so versatile and for tonight’s dinner, I just stirred in a little cumin, paprika, and dried oregano into a cup of yogurt.  Plain and simple, and the cool flavor of the yogurt balances the acidic flavors of the Tandoori sauce.

All in all, I can’t complain about this meal.  How could I?  I was able to whip up a hot meal in less than 30 minutes and now have leftovers to take for lunch tomorrow.  What more can you ask for?

Nervous about Indian Food?  Golden Temple simmer sauces are a great way to test the waters.  At around $4 a jar (which I personally think is more than enough for the one pound of chicken the jar calls for- in fact, I usually use two and still have plenty of sauce), its an inexpensive way to try something new.  My entire meal (rice, 2 pounds of chicken, yogurt, and sauce) ran me about $15-$20 but serves 4.  $5/person for a cultural experience in the comfort of my own home…priceless.

 

Categories: Entrees, Indian, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “And Away We Go…

  1. Matt

    Where can I buy that sauce!?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

