Asian Slaw with Grilled Chicken Sate

Ohhhhhhh man, you have NO idea how excited I am about summer!  I LOVE summer, like really love summer.  I love summer weather, summer hours (its light out until after 9 p.m. right now, people!!), and most of all, summer food.  Mmmmm, summer food!  There’s fresh veggies in the garden (we’ve got quite a few things going right now, I’ll have to post about that sometime to show you our funny garden), fresh fruit, lots of grilling, eating outside, and homemade ice cream is finally appropriate.  YUM!

At this rate, we are going to have to invest in a new case of propane tanks for our little Weber Q because we are grilling so much (and guess what, that actually makes me excited!).  We broke out the grill recently in an attempt to eat something healthy for dinner that was full of flavor and could come together quickly.  As far as the grilling went, honestly, I cubed chicken, threw it on skewers and rubbed it with this sate seasoning.  Easy enough, right?  Right.  Moving on…

Now for the real star of this show, the Asian Slaw.  Oh, boy.  This was one of the first things I pinned on Pinterest when I joined back in the fall and just now got around to making it.  Now I’m kind of sad that I waited for so long.  This is so delicious and so fresh tasting – I just kept picking at it because it was so good that I couldn’t get enough.  There’s complex flavors from the dressing  (that is like liquid gold, I could probably drink the stuff) and various textures from the veggies, beans, and peanuts.  I’m not kidding, this is like a confetti party for your plate!  Its makes a ton (which I was skeptical about and considered cutting the recipe in half), but Branden and I ate it all within a day or two.  I mean, at least its not horribly unhealthy – I guess there’s worse things that we could be gorging ourselves in, right?!?  Right.

This would make some seriously delicious cookout food for a crowd, too – different from your typical broccoli slaw (which don’t get me wrong, I kind of like that stuff – raw ramen noodles in all.  I really hope that other people know what this is other wise you’re going to think that I’m gross).

Okay, enough rambling…make some slaw!

P.S.  Here’s the link to the recipe from Once Upon a Chef – the picture is MUCH better than mine.  Clearly I got too excited to eat this and didn’t pay attention to the fact that the picture doesn’t do the salad justice.  Whoops!

Dressing

  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c. unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 TBS soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. Asian sesame oil
  • 1 TBS peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Sriracha sauce
  • 1 TBS minced fresh ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

For the Slaw

  • 4 c.prepared shredded coleslaw
  • 2 c. prepared shredded carrots
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 c. cooked and shelled edamame
  • 2 medium scallions, finely sliced
  • 1/2 c.chopped salted peanuts (or you can leave them whole)
  • 1/2 c. loosely packed chopped fresh cilantro
Make the dressing by combining all of the ingredients in a medium bowl.  Stir until the peanut butter is dissolved. Set aside.
Combine all of the slaw ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the dressing and toss well.  Let sit at least ten minutes so vegetables have a chance to soak up the dressing.  Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary (I added more Sriracha).  Serve cold.

Categories: Asian, Recipes, Salads | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Asian Slaw with Grilled Chicken Sate

  1. I adore chicken satay – one of my favourite Asian dishes. Those sound great :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

