Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

So I MISSED Memorial Day.  I didn’t miss it in the sense that I lost track of time and completely forgot about it – no, I missed it in the sense that I had 4.5 days from work and got totally lost in my vacation bliss.  Seriously, we spent most of the weekend outdoors and grilling out for dinner EVERY night (that was the only must in our daily agendas).  It.  Was.  Wonderful.

So, I didn’t get this to you in time for Memorial Day Weekend festivities, but its okay, because SUMMER JUST STARTED! Hip, hip hooray!  Keep those grills hot, my friends – I’ve got lots of grilling recipes for you this summer!  This one is excellent and a healthier alternative to beef burgers this summer.  The light and fresh Mediterranean flavors are awesome for summer – serve with a glass of Sauvigon Blanc and some Grilled Greek Potatoes (coming soon).

Anywhosers, I had some leftover baba ganoush and decided we needed something else to eat it with besides Naan (don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Naan, but I probably shouldn’t make a meal out of it multiple days in a row).  These were awesome and the baba complimented the flavors of the burger perfectly – I mean, I did design it that way so I’m glad it worked!

So spice up your summer cookout and make you some Mediterranean Turkey Burgers…STAT!  Enjoy!

  • 1 lb. lean, ground turkey
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3.5 oz. crumbled, soft goat cheese
  • Juice of one lemon
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. ground cumin
  • ¼ tsp. ground oregano
  • ½ tsp. dried thyme
  • ½ tsp. onion powder
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • ½ c. fresh baba ganoush
  • Naan
  • Lettuce leaves, optional

Under the broiler, roast the red pepper until charred.  When cool enough to handle, remove skins, julienne and set aside.

In a large bowl combine goat cheese with lemon juice, salt, cumin, oregano, thyme, onion powder, and garlic.  Add in ground turkey and mix well.  Divide into four even patties and allow to sit in the fridge 15 minutes before grilling over medium heat until cooked thoroughly.

To serve, spread baba ganoush on naan, top with lettuce, burger, roasted red peppers, and an additional piece of naan.  Serve immediately.

Categories: Entrees, Greek, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a great time! Lucky! I’ve just been working… day off tomorrow though :D. These burgers sound simply divine :D

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

